But it was hard to talk about something that was…a moment?

It felt like it was a moment.

It felt like it would eventually be a memory.

BAWTY.kindle.preview

Title: Better at Weddings than You

Author: Mina V. Esguerra

No. of Pages: 214 pages (e-book)

To be published on April 15, 2017

Rating:

gyep8668

Synopsis:

Daphne Cardenas is the best wedding planner around, and everyone knows it. That’s why her friend Greg hired her as an emergency replacement one month before his wedding—because he fears his fiancée Helen is falling for the guy they first hired for the job.

Aaron Trinidad is new to the wedding industry but years of conference planning and loads of charm make him good at it. Really good at it. Planning the wedding of his friend Helen should be easy, and it is. To be unceremoniously fired isn’t good for his new career, but the chance to learn from the best might be the silver lining.

Aaron and Daphne have chemistry, but there’s history with Helen that at least one other person considers a threat. Who’s the planner who can fix this impending disaster?

Book Thoughts:

I once had attended a seminar about ‘gender roles’ and I had learned then, that there are no specific roles a gender is expected to do/have.

So that’s what I actually liked about this novel by Miss Mina, it traversed its way beyond society’s expectations on what roles a man and a woman could have. Some could raise an eyebrow on a GUY being a wedding planner, but expecting it nonchalantly when a GIRL does that job.

It shows how an empowered heroine Daphne is, getting her own things done, not needing a man to be labeled as a real woman, and being successful in the field that she is passionate about.

It also shows how a guy can also feel less proud for having a GIRL be better than him in the industry he’s working on. Because, in reality, some guys could really be egotistic and not accept the fact that a GIRL could be better at him on their line of work, right? But with Aaron, there were some compromises they had to deal with, but in the end, he was willing to work with Daphne for his friends, and for him to learn more about being a certified wedding planner.

After all, it was a win-win situation for both of them. (READ THE BOOK FOR MORE DETAILS. SPOILER: steamy situation)

Anyway, it’s not my usual YA read but it’s an amazing experience to read and be in the mind of grown-ups. It makes me see how adult deals with their problems maturely (ehem Helen and Greg).

It’s also a story of a romance unexpectedly found where it shouldn’t have been, and how the girl finds herself accepting changes on her routine, and receiving love by doing so.

So, for more insights here’s a:

Character Interview with Aaron Trinidad and Daphne Cardenas

Aaron Trinidad

  • Have you never seen any sign that Helen might have brewing feelings for you that is more than just a friend? Or you have, but you tried to give it a benefit of the doubt and just masked it as mere kindness?

I only know that she’s been nice to me — okay, maybe the nicest a person has ever been to me. But in my defense, we never talked about it. I missed so many signals. And eventually she’d have a boyfriend, which to me means she’s into someone else. I don’t know how I’d have done it differently, but that’s it — I stop even seeing signals if I know it’s not going to happen. Obviously I’m not one hundred percent accurate on this.
  • If Daphne and Greg weren’t on the picture, do you think a romantic relationship with Helen would be possible?

 

I can’t say–only that I’ve known Helen for years and we were never romantic, and it wasn’t just because Greg showed up. We can probably say it was never the right time, but I never even thought about it, and maybe that’s my fault.
(Blogger’s Note: I don’t think it’s Aaron’s fault though!)
  • What are Daphne’s qualities that make you constantly choose her despite of your short history?

 

Have you met her? She’s just everything. It’s nice to think that I choose her “constantly” — it also feels like the steel hand of fate gripped us both from when she first snapped at me. What sounds better? That I choose her every day, yes.

Daphne Cardenas
  • Was there a specific moment that made you realized or provoked you to finally think that you’re tired of trying to get a serious relationship?
You know when you start dating and it’s fun? It was like that for a time, and then you go on a few bad dates one after another and you realize that it’s exhausting. I don’t know if people get strange on dates because they’re nervous, or they’re really just bad at it. You can opt out of this! Go out on only with people you already find interesting!
  •  Was there a time when you felt “pressured” to be in a relationship just because you’re already reaching the 30s?
Yes, until I figured out that it’s so much better to be “free” — so when someone you actually want to spend time with comes along, then it all clicks. But I had a great example with my mother, who made that same decision when I was a kid. You need to be a little brave, or a little stubborn, to do that when everyone wants something else for you. Good thing I’m a bit of both too.
  • Being a wedding planner aside, how much do you believe in ‘tying-the-knots’?
I’m the type of person who will go through with a thing, when I set my mind to it. I’m not married yet, but if I want to? I will.

So, if you’re into empowered heroine, weddings, HOT wedding planners, and a lot of food tasting, then check this book out!

 Better at Weddings Than You is available in Amazon for $1.99 until April 30!

About the Author

Mina V. Esguerra writes contemporary romance, young adult, and new adult novellas. Through her blog Publishing in Pajamas (minavesguerra.com), she documents her experiments in publishing.

When not writing romance, she is president of communications firm Bronze Age Media, development communication consultant, indie publisher, professional editor, wife, and mother. She created the workshop series “Author at Once” for writers and publishers, and #romanceclass for aspiring romance writers.

Her young adult/fantasy trilogy Interim Goddess of Love is a college love story featuring gods from Philippine mythology. Her contemporary romance novellas won the Filipino Readers’ Choice awards for Chick Lit in 2012 (Fairy Tale Fail) and 2013 (That Kind of Guy).

Get in touch with the author: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

toodles ~

img_9421-1

